BIOGRAPHY

Boubacar KAFANDO

            A N’goni and kora virtuoso, composer artist, singer, leader of the Zaama Nooma Band.

Boubacar Kafando is a native of the Mossi ethnic group, whose community is based on the use of Moré language and is well-known for its oral traditions inside the family and the community.

Born in Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso, Boubacar, from a very early age, was fascinated by the music of his country and discovered the secrets of the traditional music while living with local musicians in several artistic houses of the capital. After having learnt percussions, then the art of singing and playing Kora, N’goni, Boubacar took part in Mandinga bands like Bankadi Live and Faso Musik.

 

In 2001, he toured in France with the Djamakunu band. They performed at The New Morning, La Flêche d’Or, the Palais des Mutualité in Paris and at the Festival d’Avignon.

In 2003, Boubacar decided to move to France in order to promote cultural exchanges between France and Burkina Faso and to share his love for music.

In 2007, he founded a non-profit organisation called ZAAMA NOOMA. For that purpose, Boubacar surrounded himself with a collective group of artists from Europe and Burkina Faso.

In 2009, he inaugarated the cultural centre ZOUNOGOO in the town of Saponé, Burkina Faso in order to welcome the Burkinabé children and people coming from all over the world. The children living in the area could then take part in the music, dance, theatre, arts, art craft workshops given by the local artists, artisans.  

In 2010 and 2012, he organised two festivals in this cultural centre.

In 2010 he launched his first album « Douni Zougou » which means On this planet. This first album offers captivating acoustic sounds from various African traditional instruments such as the kora, n’goni, calebasse, tama, shékéré, Peul flute, Djeli goni, musical bow.

Since then, Boubacar and his band have performed extensively in venues and for charitable events worldwide including the Cabaret Sauvage in Paris. He has performed at many festivals in France like the Festif L’Art, Le Festival des Murs A Pêches in Paris, but also in Africa: Burundi, Kenya, Burkina Faso.

In March 2014, the band toured in the United-States where they performed in renowned venues such as The Shrine World Music Venue in Harlem, the Piano Bar, the Sylvana Harlem. They also participated in the African American Day Parade.

In January and August 2016, the band did two promising tours in the United Kingdom, Wales and London (Kaya World Music Festival, Hootananny, The Ritzy, Bernie Grant Arts Centre).

In May 2016, the Boubacar Kafando & Zaama Nooma Band launched their second album « Faut pas se diviser », meaning We must not be divided. This new opus is the result of many musical and other encounters, which resulted in a musical fusion, blending several musical genres such as jazz, blues, rock, afrobeat, funk.

The Boubacar Kafando & Zaama Nooma Band continues to travel the world to offer an array of multiple colours where humanity and life are at the heart of their music and main topics.

© 2018 Zaama Nooma

BIOGRAPHIE

   Boubacar KAFANDO

    Un virtuose du N'goni et de la Kora, artiste compositeur interprète et leader du groupe

    Zaama Nooma Band.

Boubacar Kafando est originaire de l'ethnie Mossi, dont la communauté est fondée sur l'usage de la langue moré, et est connue pour ses traditions orales au sein de la famille et de la communauté.

Né à Ouagadougou, au Burkina Faso, il se passionne dès son plus jeune âge à la musique de son pays et découvre les secrets de la musique traditionnelle en parcourant les maisons d'artistes de la capitale. Après s'être consacré à l’apprentissage des percussions, puis à l’art du chant, de la Kora et du N'goni, Boubacar intègre les orchestres mandingues Bankadi Live et Faso Musik.

 

En 2001, il part en tournée en France avec l'orchestre Djamakunu. A cette occasion, il jouera au New Morning, à La Flêche d'Or, au Palais de la Mutualité à Paris ainsi qu'au Festival d'Avignon.

En 2003, Boubacar décide de venir s'installer en France.

En 2007, il fonde l'association à but non lucratif Zaama Nooma qui connaît un grand succès. Boubacar s'entoure alors d'un collectif d'artistes européens et burkinabés. 

En 2009, il ouvre le Centre culturel Zounoogo à Saponé, au Burkina Faso, afin de favoriser l’accueil des enfants burkinabés et des personnes venant du monde entier. Le centre a également pour objectif de soutenir les artistes-artisans locaux afin de faire connaître leurs œuvres. Ainsi, les enfants de la région peuvent assister à des cours de musique, danse, théâtre, arts plastiques et artisanats divers dispensés par les artistes-artisans résidents dans le centre culturel Zounoogo. 

En 2010 et 2012 il y organise deux festivals.

En 2010, il fait son premier album "Douni Zougou" qui veut dire « Sur cette planète » . Celui-ci offre des sonorités acoustiques captivantes mêlant divers instruments traditionnels africains tels que la kora, le n’goni, la calebasse, le tama, le shékéré, la flûte peule, Djeli goni, l’arc à bouche.

Depuis, Boubacar et son groupe jouent de façon extensive dans des salles de concert et lors d’événements associatifs en France et à l'international.

Il s'est notamment produit au Cabaret Sauvage ainsi que dans de nombreux festivals tels que le Festif L'Art, le Festival des Murs A Pêches à Montreuil, ainsi qu'en Afrique : au Burundi, Kenya et Burkina Faso.

En mars 2014, le groupe part en tournée aux Etats-Unis où il se produit dans des salles renommées telles que le Shrine World Music Venue à Harlem, le Piano Bar, Sylvana Harlem. Ils participent également à l'African American Day Parade.

 

En janvier et août 2016, le Boubacar Kafando & Zaama Nooma Band fait deux tournées très prometteuses au Royaume-Uni, en passant par le Pays-de-Galles et dans divers quartiers londoniens tels que Shoreditch, Battersea, Lewisham, Streatham Hill et Brixton (Hootananny et le Ritzy) .

En mai 2016, ils annoncent la sortie du deuxième album: "Faut pas se diviser”. Cet album est le fruit de multiples rencontres artistiques qui se sont traduites par une fusion musicale, mêlant plusieurs genres musicaux tels que le jazz, le blues, le rock, l'afrobeat, le funk. 

Depuis, le Boubacar Kafando & Zaama Nooma Band continue de parcourir le monde afin d'offrir un univers riche aux facettes multiples où cohabitent de façon percutante l'humanité et la vie.

© 2018 Zaama Nooma